Robert Young

Professor Robert Young (group leader). Rob is an experimental physicist with a passion for developing practical applications of quantum technologies. The last decade saw the beginning of another new generation of technology, one that is underpinned by the quantum nature of the devices. This technology will have a huge impact on our lives in many ways; the first being to enable truly secure communications. Rob’s contribution in this exciting new field was seeded by a Master’s degree in physics from Oxford University (2002), before moving to Cambridge to complete a PhD in experimental quantum information processing. Here he was part of the world-leading Semiconductor Physics Group, led by Prof. Sir Michael Pepper. For his PhD he won two awards, from the Institute of Physics and an EU network. He holds a Chair in Quantum Information at Lancaster University, a Royal Society Research Fellow, an Adjunct Professor at IFFS (Chengdu), is the secretary of the Institute of Physics' Semiconductor Group, a committee member for the Quantum Electronics and Photonics Group, a founding member of Lancaster University's Quantum Technology Centre, and a management board member of doctoral training centre Graphene-Nownano.

Email -    Phone - +44 (0) 1524 592222

Post-doctoral researchers and Impact fellows

Dr Yameng Cao

Dr Yameng Cao. Yameng is a recently-appointed postdoc, involved in the research and development of nascent quantum technologies, by taking advantage of two-dimensional materials. These include graphene, and other graphene-like monolayer materials, such as transition-metal dichalcogenides. My interest in the two-dimensional materials stems from the prospect of building a noise-free environment to house electron spin qubits. Currently he is looking at photonic devices to enhance the optoelectronic capabilities of these atomically thin materials.

Ramón Bernardo Gavito

Dr Ramón Bernardo Gavito. Ramón completed his PhD at Universidad Autónoma de Madrid studying different ways to tailor the electronic properties of epitaxial graphene, such as intercalation and periodic covalent functionalisation, by means of scanning tunneling microscopy and spectroscopy. He has also worked at IMDEA Nanoscience (Madrid) in the fabrication and optical characterisation of molybdenum disulfide and noble metal plasmonic nanostructures.


Yasir J Noori

Dr Yasir Noori. Yasir joined the group as a PhD student in 2013, after winning a Faculty of Science and Technology scholarship at Lancaster University. During his work in the Y-Q group, Yasir has become an expert in electron beam lithography, reactive ion etching and scanning electron microscopy. He also gained a great amount of experience in finite difference time domain modelling using high-end supercomputers with many different packages. Yasir graduated from Dundee University in 2013 with a first class degree with Honours in Electronic Engineering and Physics.

Dr Alexander Robson. Alex is a technology access consultant on the ERDF Cumbria Innovations Platform (CUSP) project – an initiative helping business to access technical and management expertise from Lancaster University and the University of Cumbria. His research interests include the deposition and characterisation of 2D materials, as well as the cross-sectional analysis of a wide range of materials and structures.
Alex obtained his PhD in 2014 from Lancaster University, focusing on cross-sectional scanning probe microscopy (SPM) techniques and their application to compound semiconductor structures and devices. He subsequently worked to optimise the methodology of SPM measurements of samples prepared via beam-exit cross-sectional polishing – an ion-beam milling technique developed at and patented by Lancaster University. He was a senior research associate on the European Commission project QUANTIHEAT (QUANTItative scanning probe microscopy techniques for HEAT transfer management in nanomaterials and nanodevices, FP7-NMP-2013-LARGE-7), involving twenty partner institutes in academic and industrial fields with the aim of tackling and validating thermal metrology at the nanoscale.

Dr Sheng Ye. Sheng joined the group as a senior research associate in 2017 to work on thin-film based detectors/sensors and quantum information devices. Sheng completed his PhD at the  University of Southampton in 2016, having studied nano-electronic devices (FET, SET) and nano-technologies. After his PhD, he joined a project fabricating radiation hardened CMOS devices for space application as a post-doc. Sheng is an expert in nano-electronic device fabrication and characterisation. He is currently developing thin-film based cost-efficient and radiation tolerant pixel detectors.

Research students

Ben headshot

Ben Astbury. Ben joined the group to study of a masters degree after completing a successful bachelors at Lancaster University. He is investigating quantum random number generators.

John Campbell

John Campbell. Joined the group in 2015 as part of the EPSRC NOWNano doctoral training centre. His primary supervisor is Dr Max Migliorato at Manchester University.


James Howarth

James Howarth. Joined the group in 2016 as part of the EPSRC NOWNano doctoral training centre to develop quantum light sources with two-dimensional materials. He is jointly supervised by Professor Kostya Novoselov FRS and Dr Young.


Tom McGrath. Tom joined the group as a PhD student in 2017 having completed a very successful 6-month internship.

Hamzah headshot

Hamzah Shokeir. Hamzah completed his bachelors at Queen Mary University of London. He is studying quantum effects from atomic disorder in semiconductor nanostructures for a masters by research degree.

Chris Woodhead

Chris Woodhead. Chris joined the group as a PhD student in October 2013 after completing his undergraduate degree within the Physics department at Lancaster.

Visiting researchers

Previous members of the group

Sam Moorby (research student)

Joseph Welford (research student)

Andrew Bussey (research student)

Bonnie Tsim (research student)

Lucas Mogg (research student)

Andrés Black (visiting researcher)

Grace Beaney Colverd (research student)

Jonathan Roberts (research student and PDRA)

Theo Noble (research student)

Nicholas Hulbert (research student)

Hazel Gardner (research student)

Veronica Letka (research student)

Matt Young (research student)

Josh Rose (research student)

Peter Tovee (PDRA)